Casey: Aid Coming to 21 PA Counties After USDA Declares Disaster

Freezing Temps From March Through May Devastated PA Farmers; Fed Aid Will Help Them Get Back On Their Feet

5 Counties Declared Disaster Areas -- 16 More Will Benefit As Contiguous Counties

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA) announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared 5 Pennsylvania counties disaster areas as a result of freezing temperatures from March through May that destroyed crops, setting farmers in the region back at a crucial time in the growing season. The following counties have been declared disaster areas: Clarion, Forest, Schuylkill, Venango and Warren

Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Armstrong, Berks, Butler, Carbon, Columbia, Crawford, Dauphin, Elk, Erie, Jefferson, Lebanon, Lehigh, Luzerne, McKeon, Mercer and Northumberland.

“This spring’s freeze came at a tough time for some of our farmers, and this aid will help them get back on their feet,” Senator Casey said. “This disaster declaration will ensure that Pennsylvania’s agriculture industry can remain a major driver of economic growth and job creation in every corner of the state.”

From late March through early May, Pennsylvania experienced freezing temperatures that damaged crops throughout the state. Under the declaration, producers in the declared counties will be eligible for aid. The aid includes emergency loans and other measures that will cover production and other expenses that the freeze cost farmers in the region.