Casey: Erie County Declared Disaster Area for March Freeze -- Farmers In Region Will Receive Aid

Crawford and Warren Counties Also Eligible for Benefits

March Freeze Devastated Farmers in Region, Ruining Crops

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, U.S. Senator Bob Casey (D-PA) announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared Erie County a disaster areas as a result of a March freeze that destroyed crops, setting farmers in the region back at a crucial time in the growing season. As contiguous counties, Crawford and Warren are also eligible for benefits.

“The March freeze came at the absolute worst time for some of our farmers, and this aid will help them get back on their feet,” Senator Casey said. “A disaster declaration will ensure that Northwestern Pennsylvania’s agriculture industry can remain a major driver of economic growth and job creation.”

From late March through early April, Northwestern Pennsylvania experienced a deep freeze that damaged crops throughout the region. Under the declaration, producers in Erie, Crawford and Warren counties will be eligible for aid. The aid includes emergency loans and other measures that will cover production costs that the freeze has cost farmers in the region.