Casey, Specter Applaud the Passage of Resolution to Protect Great Lakes

WASHINGTON, DC- U.S. Senators Bob Casey (D-PA) and Arlen Specter (R-PA) today joined their colleagues in the Great Lakes region in applauding the Congressional passage of the Great Lakes Compact Resolution which aims to protect the Great Lakes.  Today the U.S. House of Representatives passed the resolution would ratify the compact signed into law by the governors of the 8 states surrounding the Great Lakes water basin.    

The U.S. Senate passed the resolution on August 1st.

“The Great Lakes are an important part of the culture and economy of northwestern Pennsylvania.  The Lakes are also an important source of drinking water in our state,” said Senator Casey.  “I applaud Congress for following in the footsteps of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for taking the first steps to protect and conserve Lake Erie.  And I will continue to work to ensure that the long-term health and sustainability of this precious resource is protected.”

“I am pleased Congress has passed this important resolution,” Senator Specter said. “Lake Erie is a valuable resource and effective management of the waters of the Great Lakes basin is essential for sustaining and protecting 90 percent of the nation’s fresh water for the 35 million people who drink it.”

The resolution would ratify the Great Lakes Compact which would seek to accomplish three basic principles.  First, it would prevent large-scale (greater than 1 million gallons/day) water diversion from the Great Lakes Basin.  Secondly, it would ensure that Great Lakes states and the provinces of Canada coordinate their own water use within the region.  Lastly, it would make it difficult to withdraw water for use outside of the basin.

The resolution which has been passed by both the U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives now goes to President Bush to be signed into law.

In addition to Senators Casey and Specter, the Great Lakes Compact Resolution is co-sponsored by Senators from all 8 Great Lake States, including:

1)     Carl Levin (D-MI)

2)     George Voinovich (R-OH)

3)     Evan Bayh (D-IN)

4)     Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

5)     Hillary Clinton (D-NY)

6)     Norm Coleman (R-MN)

7)     Dick Durbin (D-IL)

8)     Russ Feingold (D-WI)

9)     Herb Kohl (D-WI)

10)  Barack Obama (D-IL)

11)   Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)

12)   Charles Schumer (D-NY)

13)   Dick Lugar (R-IN)

14)   Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)






Press Contact

Kendra Barkoff - (202) 228-6367